/searching A-Z index Help
University of Cambridge Home [Dept of Engineering]
University of Cambridge > Department of Engineering > Ioannis Lestas

Ioannis Lestas

Professor of Control Engineering

Fellow of Clare College

Telephone:+44 1223 748378
Office Location:Control group, Department of Engineering

Show Selected Publications

Ioannis Lestas is a Professor at the University of Cambridge, Department of Engineering and Fellow of Clare College. He graduated with a BA (Starred First) and an MEng (Distinction) in Electrical Engineering and Information Sciences from the University of Cambridge (ranked in the top 1-2%). He has a PhD from Cambridge in Control Theory, which he completed as a Gates Scholar and Trinity College Research Scholar. He was elected to a Junior Research Fellow of Clare College, Cambridge and was awarded a five year Royal Academy of Engineering Research Fellowship (492 771 GBP award). He is also the recipient of a five year ERC starting grant (1.5 million EUR award). His work has been published in the leading journals in control theory, power systems and smart grids, and in high impact factor journals like Nature. He is currently serving as Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control, the IEEE Transactions on Smart Grid, and the IEEE Transactions on Control of Network Systems.

Research Overview
- Control of networks, decentralized control, analysis and design of large scale systems.
- Power systems, smart grids, voltage/frequency control, stability and optmisation in microgrids, optimal dispatch of storage/distributed generation.
- Gene regulatory networks, noise in biochemical reaction networks.
- Theory: Network analysis and control, Lyapunov methods, Robust/Optimal Control, Time-delayed systems, Monotone Systems, Jump Markov processes, fundamental limits in feedback performance, convex optimization, graph theory.

Research Group
PhD students:
- Giovanni Pugliese Carratelli (EPSRC DTA award)
- Ioannis Papastaikoudis (Vice-Chancellor's and George & Marie Vergottis Scholarship)
- Liam Hallinan (George Moore Scholarship, EPSRC DTA award)
- Xin Qin
- Xinyi Yi (CSC scholarship)
- Parfait Lutundula (Cambridge Africa Changemakers Scholarship)

Past students/postdocs supervised:
- Khaled Laib, now University Lecturer (Assistant Professor) at University of Leicester
- Xiaodong Cheng, now Assistant Professor at Wageningen University
- Jeremy Watson, now University Lecturer (Assistant Professor) at University of Canterbury, New Zealand
- Yemi Ojo, now researcher at Idaho National Labs, US
- Mengmou Li, now at Tokyo Tech; Associate Professor at Hiroshima University from 2024
- Nima Monshizadeh, now Associate Professor at University of Groningen
- Andreas Kasis, now Research Lecturer at KIOS centre of excellence, Cyprus
- Eoin Devane, now Senior Analyst at the UK Government's Climate Change Committee
- Mohammed Benmiloud
- Ze Zhang